Blog: Featured Album: Phil Wickham - The Ascension

Sep 25 2013

LTTM artist of the month Phil Wickham has released his latest album 'The Ascension' this week. We take a closer look behind the worship leader's newest offering.

"If you're looking for a solid worship album that has so much creativity in it, lyrically and musically, then this new album from the wonderful distinctive voice of Phil Wickham is well worth checking out."

Louder Than The Music
LTTM Rating 4.5 Stars Out of 5
Read full Review

Track Listing:
1. The Ascension
2. Holy Light
3. This Is Amazing Grace
4. Carry My Soul
5. When My Heart Is Torn
6. Over All
7. Mercy
8. Glory
9. Wonderful
10. Tears Of Joy
11. Thirst

Producer Pete Kipley, who has had a long history with Phil, returns to collaborate on 'The Ascension' to create a brilliant collection of soaring tracks, skilled guitar licks and unexpected yet sing-able melodies. Phil's skills as a songwriter create beautiful imagery and paint the picture of each of us ascending the mountain of God with powerful tracks like 'Carry My Soul', and 'Mercy'.

"The major theme of The Ascension is about forward movement toward God and wanting more of Him. It’s about fixing our eyes on Him, reaching higher and digging deeper. The inspiration for this theme came from my own life. It's so easy to settle and get comfortable. This past year, God has been stirring my heart, and my wife's heart, to run closer to Him. Many of these songs were written from that place."

Phil Wickham
Read full LTTM Interview

Other Blogs

 Back to Top