John Mark McMillan Announces 'The Borderland Sessions'

Sep 12 2014

Acclaimed singer/songwriter John Mark McMillan has announced plans to release 'The Borderland Sessions' on 30th September 2014, featuring an alternate take on his original 'Borderland' album.

'The Borderland Sessions' is an intimate collection of recordings of the entire 'Borderland' album with special guest vocalists Ray Dalton (featured on Macklemore & Ryan Lewis' 'Can't Hold Us'), Bear Rinehart (of NEEDTOBREATHE), Kim Walker-Smith (of Jesus Culture), Sarah McMillan, and Brady Toops. The Sessions also includes full commentary from McMillan, sharing his thoughts and stories behind the songs.

"The Borderland Sessions is not a 'B-sides' project," shares John Mark McMillan. "From the beginning we knew most of these songs could go in totally different directions. To satisfy our need to explore all of the options, we planned to release a record with alternate versions. The idea was to expose people to more of the basic songwriting and lyrical elements of Borderland while also showing off the production ideas that we just couldn't fit on the original release.

We recorded so many beautiful parts, like clarinet, cello, and vibes that we couldn't use on the first round, so The Borderland Sessions gave us an opportunity to share those special elements. It was a dream to collaborate with Ray Dalton, Bear Rinehart, Kim Walker-Smith, Brady Toops and my all-time favorite singer Sarah McMillan. What a thrilling opportunity to work with some of my favorite voices."

McMillian released 'Borderland' through Lionhawk Records in March debuting at No. 4 on Billboard's Top Christian Album chart and No. 41 on Billboard's Top 200 chart, marking it as his best debut release week to date. During release week, the album debuted at No. 1 on the iTunes Christian and Gospel chart and continued to hold a Top 15 slot in the iTunes Overall Albums chart.

'The Borderland Sessions' Track Listing:
01. Tongues of Fire - Commentary
02. Tongues of Fire
03. Monsters Talk - Commentary
04. Monsters Talk (feat. Bear Rinehart)
05. Visceral - Commentary
06. Visceral (feat. Ray Dalton)
07. Future / Past - Commentary
08. Future / Past (feat. Kim Walker-Smith)
09. Borderland - Commentary
10. Borderland
11. Love At The End - Commentary
12. Love At The End
13. Heart Runs - Commentary
14. Heart Runs (feat. Sarah McMillan)
15. Counting On (Commentary)
16. Counting On (feat. Brady Toops)
17. Guns / Napoleon - Commentary)
18. Guns / Napoleon
19. Silver Shore - Commentary
20. Silver Shore (Acoustic in New Zealand)
21. Holy Ghost - Commentary
22. Holy Ghost

Other News

Kurtis Parks Releasing Folk Hymn Project 'Hymn Like'
Oct 19

Kurtis Parks Releasing Folk Hymn Project 'Hymn Like'

Old Bear Records has announced their newest artist signing, Kurtis Parks, will release his new Folk hymn project 'Hymn Like' on October 19th. Kurtis has an extensive history as both a songwriter, and worship leader. His heart…

 Back to Top