Michael W Smith Releases New Worship Album 'Sovereign' This Week

May 13 2014

Legendary Christian music singer/songwriter Michael W. Smith has released his first studio worship album since 2008, titled 'Sovereign', this week with new label partner Sparrow Records and Capitol Christian Music Group.

'Sovereign' is also available as a Deluxe Edition including a special DVD concert filmed at Smith's barn in Franklin, and featuring guest appearances from Kari Jobe and Leeland Mooring.

After selling more than 15 million albums, scoring 28 Number 1 hits, earning three Grammy Awards and more than 40 Dove Awards, musical icon Michael W. Smith is well known as one of the most gifted artists and worship leaders of his generation.

Smith's previous worship projects have sold well over 3.5 million albums. Throughout the entirety of his career, Smith's albums have received one Double Platinum, seven Platinum and 16 Gold RIAA Certifications.

"I'm enjoying making music more than I ever have in my entire life," Smith exudes. "I'm having fun and I'm excited about this record and this next chapter."

In the spirit of this new adventure, Smith enlisted the talents of several songwriters and producers he hasn't collaborated with previously for 'Sovereign', including Seth Moseley (Newsboys, Sanctus Real, Love & the Outcome) and Kyle Lee (Natalie Grant). Smith also tapped the expertise of producers Chris Stevens (TobyMac, Carrie Underwood, Mandisa) and West Coast-based writer/producer Jeremy Edwardson (Kari Jobe, Jesus Culture). Bridging the gap between a generation of worship leaders, Smith brought in one of his favorite singers, Kari Jobe, to sing on a track.

'Sovereign' Track Listing:
1. You Won’t Let Go
2. Heaven Come Down
3. Miracle
4. Sky Spills Over
5. All Arise
6. You Are The Fire
7. Christ Be All Around Me
8. Sovereign Over Us
9. Hide Myself
10. The Same Power
11. I Lay Me Down
12. The One That Really Matters (Featuring Kari Jobe)

Other News

 Back to Top