Martin Smith Speaks About Debut Solo Album 'God's Great Dance Floor Step 01'

Mar 01 2013

Martin Smith, formerly lead singer of British rock band Delirious, has spoken about his first full-length solo release 'God's Great Dance Floor - Step 01', ahead of a three date UK tour to launch the album.

Released on 22nd April 2013, 'God's Great Dance Floor - Step 01' is a 10 track collection of personal revival songs born out of a reinvigorated season of waiting on God.

Recorded in collaboration with a young team of musicians from St. Peter's Church, Brighton, the album evolved from Martin's recent solo EP recordings which were produced independently in his home studio.

First album 'Step 01' features the 8 tracks from his 'Movement One' and 'Movement Two' EPs, plus two new songs, 'Jesus Of Nazareth' and 'Shepherd Boy' - one of four songs that Martin co-wrote with Chris Tomlin.

A second full-length album from Martin, titled 'Step 02' will follow in October 2013, featuring the tracks from his third and fourth EPs, plus additional new songs. For the first time, these albums will also be available internationally on iTunes.

"I didn't just want to make a record with a bunch of great session guys," Martin explains. "That would've been easier. But we've been on a big journey in Brighton, and these songs have been written with community in mind. I wanted to encourage their lives and infuse their energy into the songs... you can just feel the energy and hear the joy in the music. I'm really proud of it."

"Anybody can get on the dance floor", continues Martin. "that's the great thing about Christianity. It doesn't matter where you come from, or what you've done... everyone is invited to the party. It's all about grace."

Album track 'Back To The Start', sets the tone for the record, building from a hard reality to a full-on pop dance celebration, complete with latino trumpet. This very personal story is beautifully portrayed in the song's new concept video (see, right), featuring Martin's teenage daughter, Elle, in the lead role.

Martin kicks off the three date God's Great Dance Floor Tour at his own church, St Peters in Brighton, on Friday 19th April 2013, with tickets available to members of his website. On 20th April he performs in Birmingham, and on 21st April at Audacious Church, Manchester.

'God's Great Dance Floor - Step 01'
Track Listing:

01 Awake My Soul
02 Fire Never Sleeps
03 Back To The Start
04 Waiting Here For You
05 You Carry Me
06 Safe In Your Arms
07 Jesus Of Nazareth
08 Soldiers
09 Catch Every Tear Drop
10 Shepherd Boy

Other News

 Back to Top