Rock Pioneers Petra Reform For Tour And New Album

May 04 2010

Pioneering Christian rock band Petra is set to reform later this year after more than 4 years in retirement. The band have announced that they will be kicking off their 'Back To The Rock' world tour in the USA on 15th October 2010, stretching across the globe through 2011. Dates and venues for the tour are currently being scheduled and are expected to be announced in the coming months.

Petra will also be back in the studio this summer to record an album containing both new songs and re-recordings of previous hits from their albums 'Never Say Die', 'More Power to Ya' and 'Not of this World', all originally released in the early 1980s, which will be revamped with a modern production edge. Production of the album is scheduled to be completed in August 2010.

During its thirty year career, Petra had a number of different line ups, and the members reforming to take the band back on the road in 2010 are the classic 80's line up of Greg Volz (Lead Vocals), Bob Hartman (Guitar, Vocals), John Lawry (Keyboard, Vocals), Mark Kelly (Bass Guitar, Vocals) and Louie Weaver (Drums). Originally formed in 1972, Petra were considered by many to be pioneers of the Christian rock and Contemporary Christian music genres, before they ended in 2006. The band released 24 albums, including two RIAA Gold-certified albums, selling nearly 10 million career copies, and winning 4 Grammys and 10 Dove Awards.

Other News

 Back to Top