New MercyMe Album 'The Generous Mr Lovewell' Inspired By Compassion

Apr 16 2010

With the release date fast approaching for MercyMe's sixth studio album 'The Generous Mr. Lovewell', the album is already making a major impact in the US. Ahead of the 4th May album release, the album track 'All of Creation' has already reached the Number 1 spot on the Billboard Christian AC and iTunes Top Christian Song charts.

The album title refers to a fictitious philanthropist the band have dreamt up. "He’s like Buddy the Elf meets Forrest Gump", says MercyMe singer Bart Millard. "He sees the good in everyone and knows his neighbors enough to know their needs. Mr. Lovewell may not be the next Billy Graham, but he’s changing the world each day in every little word and deed."

"It’s working the way we hoped it would", Bart admits. "People are taking the concept ten miles further down the road, trying to top each other’s random acts of generosity toward strangers, and leaving notes behind that say ‘courtesy of Mr. Lovewell.’ We want to see this become a movement that’s bigger than the record itself."

Plans for the album first took shape last year after MercyMe returned from a poverty-stricken province in the Dominican Republic where the guys met the child that they as a band sponsor through Compassion International. The band was also recently honored by the organization for helping to get over 17,000 children sponsored throughout the world.

"We always heard ‘you come back different’ from a trip like that, and sure enough, it turned our world upside down", Millard explains. "We came back disgusted with ourselves and what we had considered important in life. It was time to relate this to our audience—the church—and figure out how we might all do something about improving the way we love each other, at home or halfway around the globe."

'The Generous Mr. Lovewell' Track Listing:
1. This Life
2. The Generous Mr. Lovewell
3. Move
4. Crazy Enough
5. All Of Creation
6. Beautiful
7. Back To You
8. Only You Remain
9. Free
10. Won't You Be My Love
11. So Called Love

Other News

Gospel Artist Lisa Page Brooks Releases 'My Life'
Dec 18

Gospel Artist Lisa Page Brooks Releases 'My Life'

US Gospel Singer Lisa Page Brooks has released her latest album 'My Life', produced by her husband Michael Brooks. The Detroit native is best known for her role in the Gospel group Witness but is now a successful solo singer.…

Roy Fields Releases 'Emmanuel Has Come' Single
Dec 18

Roy Fields Releases 'Emmanuel Has Come' Single

Worship Leader, Songwriter and Musician Roy Fields has released his new Christmas song 'Emmanuel Has Come'. Recorded in Nashville the single features Gary Lunn on Bass, Dave Cleveland on Electric Guitar, Carl Albrecht on drums…

 Back to Top